I am a blog addict now, so I read all over the place. The editor of Glossed Over totally rules. It's a feminist look at glossy women's magazines. In one of the latest posts, she recites a passage from Cosmopolitan in which a woman supposedly tells a tale of inter-office romance that got too kinky. In her reminiscence, she argued:
"Women like bruises, I think, even non-cuckoo women. I’ve known two girls who came to the office with black eyes (I don’t know what from), and I always got the feeling they were a little proud. Maybe bruises make a woman feel feminine and helpless. "
I totally get the part about women liking bruises, but not because they make you feel feminine and helpless! They make you look like a total badass. I mean, people have to think if you are walking around proud of your bruises that the other gal (or guy) looks much worse! You pretty much have to own it if you have a black eye. It's not like no one will notice. And no matter how it happens, you must always reply "bar fight." Just to give yourself a reputation. Right? OK, so I've never been in a fight, but still. Pride + Black Eye does not = helpless. No way. After you figure out the person is not being beaten by their partner, the black eye thing gets total toughness points.
Anybody ever been in a fight? Did you have visible bruises or wounds? How did you feel about them?
Most of my friends are tough chicks who would probably not fight for funsies, but would come to aid a sister if necessary.
Right???
No comments:
Post a Comment